If You Only Read One Post, Read This!

These are extremely serious times, and serious times require serious solutions. While we watch the world unravel a little bit more each day, we can still do everything in our power to ensure that our little world is as safe and prepared as possible. The reason I am writing this is preparing is daunting, however we must push ourselves to learn new skills. I couldn’t grow weeds in manure but my wife could grow orchids in concrete, however after a lot of reading and planning, my first batch of tomatoes was a huge success (the next years wasn’t).

Our forefathers forgot more than our generation will ever know about self-sufficiency. They knew how to can and preserve the fruits of their garden and orchards, they could fix things, sew, cook, build, make their own soap and on and on.

The biggest problem we all have is fear, fear that our undertaking won’t succeed, fear that we don’t have “what it takes” to learn or do something.  The simple fact is if the desire or will is there, almost anybody can learn to do almost anything. I personally would rather be a little good at a lot of things than great at just one, but that’s just me.  Try soap making, canning, cooking, welding, woodworking, sewing or whatever you have always wanted to do, but thought you didn’t have what it takes. It may not turn out great the first time, but practice does make perfect.

While the other half of the world is wondering what the vacuous Kim Kardashian is up to, you can be learning a new skill. The internet is a gold mine of information, so start building your resource library.

With that in mind, I am going to reprint an article on a homemade rowmaker and  “How to Weld” . While it isn’t for everyone, it is for those that want to learn, but don’t know how, and in the coming months, having a skill like welding will be worth its weight in gold.

BTW, my daughters can weld and build furniture, it’s not a gender “thing”.

God Bless,

Dennis

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to If You Only Read One Post, Read This!

  1. I couldn’t be more in agreement. I, too, felt the same way, but took up gardening for the experience two years ago and had a garden the neighbors commented on positively and with admiration. As good as it was, my deer friends made doing it again last year seem like a futile effort – so I didn’t plant. This year I will.

    Also, two years ago, I became a novice beekeeper. My first year was very good. I divided one hive into three last year and had three weak hives and a very hot, dry summer. I got no honey at season’s end. The bees needed what they had been able to produce for winter’s food, plus my supplementing them with other food. Just today I went to the snow covered hives to see if I could hear ANY activity within. The bitter cold of this winter has taken it’s toll on by little Bee Buddies, I fear. I heard nothing.

    Yet, having invested money I didn’t really have into these two projects, I have gained tremendously in the know-how and will continue and will improve.Another step of self-sufficiency for which I have no training or qualifications that I want to dive into is getting my self off the power grid. That will involve solar and wind power, something I’ve already invested money into the acquisition of ‘How To’.

    I am new to this blog, but foresee myself being an avid follower!

    • Millford, you are a guy after my own heart. I have always wanted to try beekeeping as well, maybe next year. The deer ate my garden last year so I can see a how to article on keeping them out in the future.

      • Don Bowen says:

        Beekeeping is easy. The upfront costs can be high but with making things yourself and some scrounging you can be setup. I have two hives that appear to be surviving this relatively mild winter. I checked on them today and both had activity at the entrance.

        The deer and blister beetles impacted my garden last year and the drought did even more damage. One thing about gardening, there is always next year. With global warming my growing season is extending. My thermometer is showing 73. Unheard off for the Missouri Ozarks in January. Another month and I will have to turn the garden if my leg is healed sufficiently.

  2. charly says:

    I think this is wonderful.I’d love to see stuff about how to build furniture. thank you for wht you do

  3. Don Bowen says:

    You say they knew more than we but that is not true at all. THe knowledge that they had 100, 200, 300 or more years ago is stored in books and in the minds of people living today. What has been lost is the same amount of knowledge stored in the heads and cultural practices of what we disdain as “primitive” cultures the world over but that is the subject for another time.

    The people who know how to build a house, build out of wood, weld up anything or machine it out of raw metal, rebuild anything mechanical, make soap, butcher a cow, pig, chicken, treat wounds, etc are still around though disheartening in alarming numbers.

    These are the people who grew up on farms of the 30s to 50s. The people who had to do those things because there was no other way with the money and time available. As TV showed a different life those skills were sold as something only poor people had to do. The selling even convinced people who can ill afford it that growing a garden or keeping a few chickens placed them is a lesser position.

    The TV and other things showed what appeared to be a better life at the same time that farming became more of an economic game. Children of farmers sold out, received the degrees that they were told would lead to a better life, and moved to the urban areas where being raised on a farm took on a shameful cast.

    I am one of those who was raised on a farm in the 50s. I can build anything of wood, weld, do machining, rebuild engines, grow a garden, raise animals, etc. But on the other hand I am one who left the farm, first by joining the military of the Viet Nam war then going to college to become an electronics engineer.

    That knowledge is still in me and I use what I can now that I am retired and living on 40 acres of Missouri Ozarks. I did teach my kids as much as they would take and now they build things restore cars, grow gardens, can, etc.

    The knowledge is not gone, you have to find it. Even aboriginal knowledge is out there though incomplete.

Leave a Reply

